Post-Trip | Katie Deutsch

Alternative Spring Break challenges students to step outside their comfort zone to selflessly serve others.This year, I hope to challenge myself to step out of my comfort zone, serving other individuals that have been disadvantaged by complex social, cultural, and economic issues. I hope to learn from the varying perspectives of these individuals while on Alternative Spring Break, in addition to those I am serving alongside.”

Above is an excerpt from a blog post I wrote at the beginning of this semester in anticipation of this year’s Alternative Spring Break Trip. After spending the week in Washington D.C. serving alongside fellow Wichita State students in organizations focusing on alleviating homelessness and hunger within the District, I can confidently say I was challenged to step out of my comfort zone to learn from the various individuals we served, both directly and indirectly. In reflecting on our week long service-learning trip, what strikes me the most is how similar I felt to the individuals we served. Typically, hunger and homelessness is stereotyped to the degree where those impacted are viewed as the “other” within society. I think back to Tuesday night’s fellowship dinner, for example however, and note that those I dined and played Uno with so passionately were just like me in many respects. These people, often viewed as the “other” held the title of student, sister, daughter, etc. We sat at the table and shared our love for music, movies, books, and more.

The commonalities shared between those disadvantaged by systematic barriers and those that benefit from greater levels of privileges are far more than most people think. Anyone could find themselves facing homelessness– even the most privileged are not immune. Especially when looking at the cost of living within D.C., I am humbled in thinking how I would manage to sustain myself with an entry level job if I didn’t have a strong support system in my family. Without a strong support system, health, a livable wage, etc., anyone could find themselves without a roof over their head and food on the table. Humanizing homelessness and further understanding the systematic barriers surrounding it emphasize the the dire need for policy intervention and institutional support to combat homelessness, elevating those that are disproportionately susceptible to its grip.

Leave a comment